Edifying Conversations (April)

by Sarah L. Bryant

Ring….ringgg…..riiinnnnngggg!

“Hello, Julie speaking!” the voice on the other end of the line was that of a sweet young lady. The voices of young children could be heard faintly in the background.

“Hello, Julie! How is the Lord blessing you today?” Rose greeted her friend.

“Dear Rose, thank you for your kind phone call; the Lord planned that perfectly, because I was just thinking of you this morning. I wanted to tell you what He showed me this morning during my daily devotions. I am studying Colossians – you know the passage I am memorizing in chapter one? – and how my heart was struck by verse seventeen! It says of Christ, ‘He is before all things, and by him all things consist‘! Isn’t that an amazing statement?!” Excitement flowed from Julie’s voice, who ardently loved the Word of God, and was always eager to share it with others.

“Oh, that is one of my favorite chapters in the New Testament, Julie! I can hardly comprehend the depths of the truth of this verse.” Rose mused, “Just think, God put Christ before all of His creation, higher than the heavens, thrones, dominions, principalities, and all powers!”

“So true. One day how glorious it will be to at last see this great Savior Who has redeemed us from the power of darkness and brought us into His truly glorious light. He seemed to prick my heart gently this morning, by asking me, ‘I am before all things in this world. Do you allow me to sit on the throne of your heart in every area?”

For a few moments, there was a deep pondering silence as both young ladies dwelt on this all-encompassing question.